h1

Souffle Omelette

May 21, 2019

Light as air, you have to try these at least once. If they don’t become your omelette of choice, I’d be shocked.  Big and fluffy,  you might want to start off with one less egg per serving than you would normally. I’ve used cheese only as a filling. Adding lots of heavy fillings will give you less rise. I prefer to serve meats on the side, rather than deflating the omelette. If you’re looking to impress you cannot beat the presentation. Perfect for a sunrise breakfast, Sunday brunch, or an evening brinner (breakfast dinner 🙂 )

3 eggs separated, making sure there is no yolk in the white

a knob of good unsalted butter

seasonings  – your choice but do add something!

1/4 C cheese – for inside and a little on top

light add ins – thin sliced mushrooms, very finely diced ham, minced shallots

 

Beat your whites til they hold a medium peak. Don’t be scared! I have never done meringues because I have always failed at getting whites to hold. Soufles I made flopped. I was determined to get this right though. I make these in about 5 minutes now. They are so easy…worth every beat. And btw I use a whisk. No need for a mixer. (at least not with up to 4 eggs)

beatenwhites

Beat your yolks til they are thick and creamy and bright. Don’t slack on yolk beating- it gives you peak performance. Rinse your whisk and give the whites a quick re beat (trust me here), then slowly add the yolks to the whites…

whiteandyolk

Gentlyyyyyyyy fold your yolks into the whites til they are this omgorgeous shade of  pale yellow…

yolkandwhite

I am using an 11″ electric skillet here. Gently pour your eggs in and smooth them to the sides of the pan. Let it set for a minute, add your seasonings and cover. Three minutes covered on low-medium high heat.

omelettecovered

Add your cheese. It only needs a little. Save some for on top. Do you SEE that rise?

cheeseontop

Carefully fold and place on a plate. Gentle and careful are the theme here, but don’t be fearful. Mine have yet to flop, and each one is more beautiful than the next. Again will you look at that height?

omelete

A bit of cheese to finish.

omelettefinished

Try it. Leave me a note when you do. It’s love, I promise.

 

 

 

Leave a comment