h1

Glazed Corned Beef

March 16, 2012

Around mid February I start to crave  corned beef. I don’t make it often,but is one of my favorite meals.I am  a little unconventional,as I am not a fan of it boiled  with the the standard fare. I have taken to baking my corned beefs in recent years..it slices nicely, and much of the salt still cooks out of it. This is one of my best tasting, soaked overnight in Guiness Stout, dried well and then baked in more Guiness. Topped with a light glaze of honey, dijon and yellow mustard, it is a melt in your mouth delight.

  • 1 corned beef
  • 1 bottle Guiness dark stout
  • 2 T. Dijon mustad
  • 1 T. yellow mustard
  • 1 T. honey

 Rinse your corned beef and pat dry. Put it into a snug pan for it’s size. Pour a cup of beer over it.

 Cover very tightly and cook at 350 for one hour. (average for corned beef in the oven is 1 hour /lb. Mine is small..2.5 lbs.)

Remove from oven and flip over (CAREFULLY) so that top and bottom cook in the juices.

 At this point I remove about half of the juice on the bottom.If  you are baking potatoes, cabbage and carrots with your beef, leave the juices in..Put back in the oven for another hour…and then take it out to give it the first glazing.

Return to oven for 15 minutes, remove and  give it a second coat with the remaining  glaze. This is what it looks like after the first glazing. I am ready to eat it now! Resist as the second coat makes it all the better.Bake 15 minutes more.

Remove from oven and let rest 15 minutes.

Slice thin and serve.My sides are fried cabbage to which I have added 2T. of the juices from the bottom of the roasting  pan,in place of salt. The carrots are cooked in a fig balsamic vinegar and honey, lightly joining all the flavors together. A bit of the balsamic juices from the carrots gives the finishing touch to the corned beef. Sláinte!!!

Leave a Reply

