h1

Jolly Jello With Pretzel Crust

July 3, 2011

The combination of the crunchy, salty sweetness of the crust , a cream cheesey filling and a fruity “jiggly” topping is a perfect side or cold dessert for summer cook outs. Today in honor of the 4th this is made with red jello, fresh red stawberries and bright blueberries. I remember the first time I tasted this recipe.Normally anything made with jello (other than a shot!) has me turning up my nose.Maybe it was the lime green, lemon yellow and orange cubes in school that first turned me off. I would never try any jello salads,they just were not my taste, let alone take one as a dish for a party.My friend Nancy insisted I try it,and from then on each time I made this, it was the first thing gone.I’m always asked to bring it,and never leave without giving the recipe. So if you are looking for something impressive,yet quick and simple as well as over the top tasty- here it is. Happy 4th of July from my kitchen to yours!

The Crust

  • 2 c. crushed, thin pretzel sticks
  • 1/2 C. melted butter
  • 3 T. sugar

Crush the pretzels but do NOT pulverize them.You want some 1/4 inch pieces of pretzel to really enjoy the contrast.This is not about pretzel crumbs! Mix the sugar well with the pretzels. Pour the butter over all.Combine making sure every pretzel is coated.

Pour into a 13×9 pan.Press down firmly and evenly in pan.Bake in a pre heated 350 degree oven for about 8 minutes. Because of the sugar,this will burn quickly so keep an eye on it. (for you notorious burners that walk away from the stove and oven like me!) Allow to cool.I usually put it in the refrigerator until I am ready to assemble the layers.

The Filling

  • 8 oz. cream cheese , room temperature
  • 1 container cold Cool Whip,defrosted in refrigerator
  • 3/4 C. powdered sugar

Since I’m feeling a little tired and lazy, (one of the reasons I am making this super easy dessert) I whipped the cream cheese with a large fork instead of dragging out the blender. Beat it till velvety smooth and then add powdered sugar. Cream them thoroughly together.Fold in half of the container of Cool Whip. Fold in the other half,and put in the fridge for just a few minutes. Meanwhile boil water for jello.

Take filling out and plop a few mounds all over the top.DO NOT LUMP IT ALL IN THE MIDDLE!!!! Doing it like this makes it much easier to spread to the corners,without disturbing any of the crust. If you don’t freak like I do if there are crumbs in the filling- then fine.

Make sure you go right to the edges ,”sealing” the crust.Put back in the refrigerator until you are done making topping.

The Topping

  • 2 small boxes (3oz.) red Jello
  • 2 scant C. boiling water
  • approximetely 16 oz. frozen fruit,partially defrosted (strawberries and fruit medley is what I use)
  • 1/2 C. cliced fresh strawberries -or more if you like a lot of fruit
  • 1/2 C. fresh blueberries

To boiling water add one envelope of Jello at a time,stirring constantly with a whisk.AS always make sure ALL of Jello is dissolved. Pour in frozen fruit and stir untill fruit is completely defrosted.

 Get pan from fridge,letting Jello sit only about 3-4 minutes or it will be too jelled to pour.GENTLY pour over the Cool Whip and spread to sides.

 Decorate with fresh fruit.(You can also  put the fresh fruit in the Jello before pouring,but I like some of the fruit sticking out over the top.

Refrigerate a few hours but do not make the night before as  the crust loses some if it’s pizazz the longer it sits.It’s still good the next day(if there is any left!) but best made the morning of the day you want to serve it!

 

One comment

  1. I made this today for the 4th! Awesome! Definitely a keeper! 🙂



Leave a Reply

