h1

Reuben Casserole

June 27, 2011

An all time classic sandwich baked casserole style.I’ve made this several times,varying the ingredients,the layers,and the dressing. I think I finally have it at perfection.Tonight I even created a vegetarian version for Micaela,using a vegetarian chick’n patty in place of corned beef.Several touches make this outstanding, rather than ordinary. I use my baked corned beef – no deli meat in this  dish. My corned beef is slathered in dijon mustard mixed with the seasoning packet that comes with the beef. Then I mix a a half cup or so of red wine and beef broth,pour around the roast and bake low and slow- about 4 hours at 300* for a 5 pound roast. When it’s done and cooled a bit, I slice it super thin with an electric knife. The other secret? Make your own dressing.So easy and so much better than bottled.Instead of conventional sweet Thousand Island I use dill pickles,cut in chunks instead of relish in my dressing.. A small change that makes a world of difference. Served steaming hot- the tender corned beef, the slight bite of the sauerkraut and dressing, creamy Swiss topped with crunchy  pumpernickle cubes…every tastebud will be asking for one more bite!

  • 1 pound corned beef, cut into strips
  • ½ cup Reuben dressing
  • 16 oz. bag Boar’s Head sauerkraut,drained well,squeezed dry
  • 1/2 loaf pumpernickel bread,roughly cubed
  • 8 oz. Swiss cheese, shredded or cut into small pieces
  • ½ cup butter, melted

        Reuben Dressing

  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup chopped dill pickles
  • 2 teaspoons worcestershire

Make your dressing and set aside.Place strips of corned beef into well greased 12×8 glass baking dish.Evenly spread sauerkraut over meat.Spoon Reuben dressing over top of sauerkraut. Don’t change the layer order- tried and true – this works best.

Cover with cheese pieces.

Many recipes call for the bread cubes be tossed with butter and layer on top.I find that there is no way to evenly distribute melted butter like this.You will end up with some soaked pieces of bread while others have no butter at all on them. So the solution is to slightly dip each cube in the butter and place on top,until casserole is covered in a nice single layer.It really does not take longer,and you will have one less greasey bowl to clean!

Bake at 350 for 30-40  minutes, til cheese is bubbly and bread is slightly crisp on top.

Served tonight with warm red potato salad.

While making this I was trying to think of a way to make this vegetarian so my critic could share in this Reuben experience. I saw that one of her chick’n patties would fit nicely in one of my ramekins! I defrosted one,and using the same layering made her an individual portion.I’m sure it would be good with a veggie burger too.This was baked for 20 minutes. I turned it out of the ramekin and it really made a nice presentaion when flipped back- so that the bread would be on top.

One comment

  1. I had left over Ruben stuff last week and what I had planned for dinner didn’t work out. I did add a can of sliced new potatoes so I didn’t have to make anything else. Now it is a toss up…I’m not sure if I like the sandwiches or the casserole best.



Leave a Reply

