h1

Pineapple Casserole

April 16, 2011

Pineapple pairs so well with many things.I tried this the other day at Publix.It is a demo recipe from their Aprons collection.Though I liked it, I knew I could improve on it after reading the ingredients – no need for one cup of white sugar was my first thought. They were serving it with ham, as a side suggestion for upcoming holiday meals. So many of you have asked for Easter and Passover recipes I tried this last night.Success! We loved it, and it is much better after tweaking.We had it with boneless center cut pork chops,but this is a side that would  nicely accompany beef, chicken, and fish as well. I am providing the amounts for a full recipe made in a 13×9 pan,serving 8-10. For the three of us I cut the recipe in half. It’s gone!

  • 24 Ritz crackers, crumbled,not crushed
  • 7 oz. white cheddar,shredded (I used Monterey Jack)
  • 6 T. Flour
  • 1/2 C. brown sugar
  • 2 cans (20  oz.) pineapple tidbits(drained,reserve juice)

Pre – heat oven to 375 degrees

Combine flour,brown sugar and cheese.

Stir in pineapple until evenly coated and pour into casserole dish.

Top with cracker crumbs.Sprinkle the raw sugar over the crackers.

Bake about 25-30 minutes,until golden and bubbly.

Warm reserved pinapple juice and spoon a bit over serving and meat.(Don’t put juice over entire casserole as the crackers will get soggy) I used some of the pineapple juice to deglaze the pan I make the boneless pork chop in.

Leave a Reply

