h1

Cabbage and Noodles (Haluski)

March 17, 2011

Lately my Mom has been on my mind -more so than usual. She lives in another state and I don’t get to see her as often as I would like. I wish she had been able to live with us as she wanted, but since that was not possible I often make the comfort foods that remind me of her. With cabbage on sale for St.Patrick’s Day,I am choosing  to honor my Mom with a very simple dish she loved. Though I love a good corned beef, I always omit the cabbage as it just doesn’t give this vegetable the taste it is capable of having.You will find the cabbage in this carmelized sweet, and peppery at the same time.It brings back warm wonderful memories of the very best friend and Mom a girl could have.I love you Mum ❤

  • 1 medium head cabbage,cored and diced
  • 1 medium sweet onion,diced
  • 3 T.butter
  • 1 lb. medium wide flat noodles,boiled in salted water,set aside
  • black pepper- lots of it!

Boil the water for your noodles. Drop noodles in  for about 8 minutes,drain and set aside.Add a bit of butter to them so they don’t stick.

Melt butter in large saute pan. Add onion and cabbage.Stir to coat all pieces with butter. 

 

 Sprinkle a layer of pepper over all.Black pepper has oils in it.Adding it while cooking brings out the oils and infuses it thoughout the dish.

 Brown your cabbage slowly. It takes about 45 minutes to an hour for it to look like this. It’s now ready to add the noodles to it.

Add the noodles to the cabbage in the pan-so that you get every morsel of flavor in them.Stir in a bit of salt and like my Mom did,I add more pepper!

Transfer to a large serving bowl.This is one from a set we had when I was young.Serve hot as a side (perhaps with your corned beef!) or by itself. A bowl full of loving memories for me.

2 comments

  1. Sounds and looks wonderful…I want some RIGHT NOW! I’ve scrambled eggs with noodles so I know cabbage will be great.


  2. I have similar feelings/memories for this simple
    heart-warming dish….my kids learned to love it as well…other veggies can be sauted along with the cabbage as well and made with whole grain noodles for more nourishment….thanks for including it and sharing your thoughts…



Leave a Reply

