h1

Roasted Vegetables in Phyllo

November 3, 2010

When  I mention that I make my own spinach pie I generally get the same reaction.People fear phyllo for some reason. I have made some major messes over the years and I have learned from them.Sharring them here I hope will ease your fears.The most important thing in working with phyllo is to have all your ingredients ready before you take the defrosted package out of the fridge. I love the buttery flakiness combined with the soft, savory filling.This is my Americanized version of the Greek Spanakopita. It is worth the little bit of work it takes.

  • 1/2 pkg. Athenos phyllo
  • 2 sticks clarified butter (see How to Clarify Butter)
  • 1/2 head large cauliflower,broken up in florets
  • 1/2 large head brocolli,broken up
  • 20 baby carrots
  • 1 large onion,cut in quarters
  • 6 -8 cloves garlic
  • 10 mushrooms,sliced
  • 6 scallions,sliced thin including tops
  • 2 C. shredded American cheeses (I used American and cheddar)
  • 1/2 C. bleu cheese (optional)
  • 1 egg

Pre-heat oven to 350. Arrange vegetables (except mushrooms and scallions) on a baking sheet.Drizzle a scant amount of oil over them and massage the veggies to evenly coat.Sprinkle a bit of salt, a bit more pepper and roast for about 45 minutes.

While they are roasting, saute sliced muchrooms. Allow all  the veggies to cool,then dice them finely. Combine  with the cheeses and egg. You should have about 4 cups of the mixture. Get your ingredientes out and unroll your still chilled phyllo.Most recipes will tell you to cover it with a damp cloth. DO NOT ever ….ever do this….A dry clean LIGHTWEIGHT kitchen towel,even a paper towel is fine. (I don’t even cover mine anymore-but I work fast) I don’t know why they tell you to use something damp,as water + phyllo sheets = gluey mess..

Using a pastry brush,LIGHTLY butter a baking sheet. Pastry brush note: I use a boar’s bristle brush.Always wipe excess off of the brush so you don’t end up with a greasy product. I don’t like the silicone ones when working with phyllo-though soft they tend to tear the sheets.Gently pick up a pastry sheet and lie it on the pan. Brush lightly and continue until you have ten layers.

Spread the veggie,cheese mixture over the top sheet of phyllo evenly.

Take a phyllo sheet and cover the vegetables.Press down gently, evening your vegetables out more.Lightly brush with butter,and repeat with nine more sheets.Butter the top layer.

Bake in preheated 350 oven for 40 minutes.

I find the easiest way to cut your servings is to use a pizza cutter.Cut into one inch squares they make a great appetizer.

Micaela and I generally make a meal of this. Brady had his with spiral sliced ham and pineapple jam glaze. Also a nice side for beef or lamb.

Leave a Reply

