h1

No Carb “Noodles”

January 12, 2014

Yes, you read that right. Zero carbs, as in none. Would this qualify as a “real” noodle? I don’t see why not. All that is missing is  the flour. The texture is smooth, and it holds up to  a bold red sauce (gravy to my Italian roomie Lo), and can be made delicate enough for a clear soup.  What I especially like is you can  really flavor it up, and  add a new dimension to what you are making. I love layering flavors, and this is a good way to do just that. Seasoning possibilities are endless.. some suggestions: oregano for  a  red or meat sauce, soy if you are having Chinese…Cayenne and  curry powder for Indian dishes. Even a spoon of grainy mustard to use under Divine Dijon Chicken! Use a spice to compliment the dish you are making. Nicely filling too, without  that  oh em gee I ate too much feeling. I use one egg for soups and two for pastas. Since  I was making a Thai soup just for myself,  the recipe is for one egg.

One egg

2 T. water

1 T. scallion or parsley, chopped fine

1/2 t. hot chili oil, optional (good in chicken based soups for heat)

Beat very well. I don’t like clots of white in my eggs!  Add your seasonings. I have chili oil in mine, hence the slightly red spicy coloring. Pour into at least a 9 inch pan. Even with 2 eggs you want this on the  thin side. If you are using more than one egg, use a small ladle to make each serving. Think noodle, not omelet, even though  for a few minutes it is  going to look like one! Tilt your pan  in a circular motion to form your  “crepelet”. When it is set (as in a pancake little bubbles will form on top) flip over for a minute or  so. I like them to be cooked  through, almost well done.

photo

Remove from pan. When cool enough to handle, carefully begin to roll your crepelet into a log.

photo2

photo3

Taking a sharp knife, julienne the roll to make your “noodles”. Thinner for soups, and wider  ribbons for sauces.

photo4

photo5

NOODLES!

Add to  your favorite soup or top with anything…really, I mean it.. anything!!

photo6

Leave a comment